End Of The World

christmas-picturesWell that turned out to be a big disappointment didn’t it? Not like any of us actually expected the world to come to an end and for humanity to be wiped out but it still would have been nice if it did happen.

Things would have been so much simpler if we were all dead; no more work, no more being tired, no more money problems but I suppose we’ll just have to push on until the next time the worlds being predicted to end, or at least until the American’s blow us all up.

I hope everyone has had a lovely Christmas; mine was so-so. It’s just not as special for me as an adult any more, back when I was a child I used to be so excited I was unable to sleep, trying to listen out for Santa’s sleigh bells and wondered how he’d get in the house considering our chimney was blocked. I used to set out cookies and milk and in the morning the livingroom would be littered in presents, such a magical time of year.

Now 20 or so years on it’s just an excuse to go out and kill a few braincells with the help of alcohol and of course after an extremely boring afternoon at work (three calls in four hours?) boy did I need it. I got pretty lashed on Christmas Eve, drinking God knows how many shots of whiskey due to drinking games then woke up Christmas day around 10am feeling awful. I stared at the ceiling for about an hour before I moved.

I opened the presents, mainly consisting of cash (my favourite word) and a new SatNav then it was back to bed for another snooze before having a lazy day and then back on the alcohol.

Now all we have to look forward to is New Years Eve and it that’s that done for another year.

Looking back over the last year, I can say it’s been somewhat better than last year but definitely still shit. Having it all at the beginning of the year, I ended up losing my woman, my job and my new flat in a matter of days by May, then the next four months just sort of flew by as I constantly tried to get another job but didn’t end up doing so until September.

Though the four months were filled with much drinking, partying, Olympics and Leeds Festival so it wasn’t a total waste though my banks only just now recovering.

On a brighter note at least I’ll be starting 2013 employed, started off with the company with a bit of a rocky start but I’ve found my footing I think.

Plans for 2013 consist of remaining employed for as long as possible, save money, move to Australia, find another job involving Australian’s and last but not least, getting a novel published.

What are your plans for 2013? Did you get any good swag this Christmas? Are you as disappointed about the world not ending as I am?

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

31 thoughts on “End Of The World”

  1. As in Russia we don’t celebrate Christmas on the 25th (it’s January 7th for us), so all the holiday craze is still in store for me for New Year and a whole week off, which is the nicest thing of all.
    I am pretty much content with 2012 and how it turned out for me and thanks God apocalypse hasn’t ruined it 😀 Looking forward to 2013 and hope it’ll be more successful and happy. Everything happens for the best, so even the worst adversity can be a benefit in the longer run. Have a great 2013! 🙂

    1. Thank you 🙂 Christmas on the 7th of January?! AND a whole week off? I need to move to Russia… although I heard it’s pretty cold there much of the time so probs not. Still lucky you for having it all to come; I’ll make sure I wish you a merry Christmas in about a week and a half 😀

      1. Yeah, that’s the best New Year present our nation has received 😀 Well, it’s reasonably cold most of the time. Summers are hot and late spring and early autumn are pretty good too. Winters can be beastly though 🙂
        Haha, looking forward to your comeback 😀

        1. Lucky you for having normal seasons, our Winter has mainly consisted of rain much like Autumn before that, and Summer before that… and Spring before that haha.

  2. We definitely need to run away to Australia. I agree though, I can’t wait until the world ends. It will be so peaceful and yeah, no work, just happiness. Or at least, that’s what I like to think. I’m glad this year was better for you than the last one. Maybe if every year improves, even a little bit, life won’t be that bad, right? 😀

    1. Deffo, we can work as fruit pickers, you’ll be able to just pull them off the top of the tree without the use of a ladder because you’re so tall and I can just knock them into into the basket by punching the tree because I’m so ‘Ard. I imagine Australia to be peaceful, maybe that is the closest to the end of the world that we could hope for.

      I think this year was better than last year anyway, I remember it being a particularly crappy year work wise last year while this year I spent a third of it laid in bed; with any hope next year will be the best year of at least the last five 😀

      1. Yeah your job last year was awful. And it’s better being single anyway.
        hahahah I love our fruit picking scenario. We should probably open our own business. Just sayin.

  3. I had a great Christmas, with all the things I’d wanted. My biggest decision now is which new ‘droid to get myself. 1st world problems, right?

  4. When I say all the things I wanted, I’m talking my kids around, conversations with people I love, a nice meal and a few well thought out presents (plus a really ugly hat from a friend).

    1. Haha what else would you mean 😛 What do you mean by ‘droid? Like a new phone or an actual droid to help around the house. Having an R2D2 roaming around would be epic.

            1. Don’t think we get those phones over here, they do different ones for each country though don’t they? I’m probably going to try a Windows 8 phone next, or sell out completely and get an iPhone haha.

  5. Australia? They take offense to the word motherfucker so be careful. Go for it though. Should be fun.

    This year was weird for me. I improved so much but lost a ton too. I went from real happy some weeks to miserable the next. Life is confusing. Happy New Year to us both.

    1. They do? Probs why Samuel L Jackson isn’t living there. I’ll bear that in mind, I’m more of a “dick head” or a “cunt” man myself anyway so I might be alright.

  6. I was glad the world didn’t end, we had a couple of awesome presents waiting for the kids. If it had been the end I wouldn’t have got to see them open them!

    Moving to Australia? Good luck, the weather is beautiful here at the moment, no better place to be! 🙂

    1. Haha well I’m glad they got to open them 😀 The only thing that puts me off is that huge bugs over there, not that I’ve seen them up close but I’ve heard stories, still I’d like to see a kangaroo, don’t suppose you have them in the cities so much though; I just imagine them walking to the shop doing a bit of shopping, punching the odd pensioner. 😀

      1. Yes, the bugs are pretty impressive at times.
        Kangaroos are good but they tend to do their own thing and not hang around the shops like a bored teenager. 🙂 The time you are most likely to encounter them is while you are driving. At high speed. And the car never wins.

          1. Only a bullbar can beat a roo, and if you caught it mid-bounce it might go through your windscreen!
            I saw a VW beetle parked on the side of the road nearby one morning, next to a small dead roo. The sloping bonnet had directed the roo right through the windscreen and up into the roof, which had a definitely roo shaped lump in it. I can imagine any seats which were occupied at the time were probably quite brown too 🙂
            I am adding a clip here from Bathurst. V8 supercars are designed to withstand better hits that your average car, but poor old Jimmy Richards clipped a kangaroo and had to go back to the pits. Of course, the kangaroo learned to fly for a few seconds but no kind of pit stop would have got the poor thing back on its feet.

  7. My bog plan for 2013 is to release my memoir and start writing a new book.

    As for the end of the world (as we knew it), I hope it did end and we are beginning a new type of world–a kinder one in which we respect the planet and each other. I know it’s a lot to ask, but I’m an optimist and in my world, anything is possible! 🙂

    1. Haha I think that may be asking too much, I still think they’re trying to wipe out England, it’s been battering it down with rain for the last couple of weeks. We’re all going to end up floating away into the sea!

Leave a Reply

