Music Monday – Tim Minchin

minchinI thought I would go a different route this week and talk about someone that you don’t see in the music charts but definitely deserves to be as he’s more talented than half the jokes that we hear on the radio these days.

I also thought it’d be cool to talk about Minchin as he’s just recently starred in the newest episode of Californication which aired yesterday; I haved seen the episode yet so I don’t know how big his part was, whether he was in it for a while or just for a few seconds but if you did watch Californication (and why wouldn’t you?) and you were wondering who the guy who plays Atticus Fetch is; his name is Tim Minchin and he’s a comic genius with his crazy ginger hair and guyliner.

Originally hailing from Australia he spends a lot of his time over in England touring around Britain; selling out arenas; I know he’s huge in both countries, I finally managed to get to see him at Leeds Festival a couple of years ago.

I’m not sure how big he is over in America, mainly because I don’t live there but I can only imagine he’s pretty well known there too.

I remember seeing his first appearance on American Television when he was on Conan’s show and when I say I remember, I mean I just watched it on YouTube five minutes ago.

If you’re wondering what song he played on Conan and you’re probably not; it was the classic love song, “Inflatable You” and in some ways he makes a good case for having an inflatable girlfriend, bitches be crazy.

When he played this at Leeds people went mental; they knew every word he was about to say which is annoying because I’d paid to see Minchin not these tone deaf drugged up idiots. Still, it rocked none the less.

Don’t just think he’s all about sex though as he also sings about some serious subjects…

Mhmm, perhaps that was a bad example? Gotta appreciate his honesty though.

What makes Minchin far better than any other musical comedy is the fact that he has exceptional piano skills; you get a feeling that if he wanted to he could have been in a rock band or a solo artist, or even a classical pianist but he chose to do this and he’s made himself very successful.

When I was younger I used to watch the Paramount Channel and there’d be these half hour stand up comedy shows such as Live At Jongluers or Comedy Store and this is the first song I ever heard Minchin play and first saw him on a show called The World Stands Up. He played this song and I was instantly a fan; it’s funny because there are all these huge problems in the world and he chooses plastic bags to sing about. I have this song on my iPod and it usually makes it on every music list I create.

Definitely a song that I can never get sick of.

I just want to share every single song he’s ever done but we’ll be here all day and I have things to do so I’ll just share the song I think that showcases how good he actually is on the piano with a song he usually closes out shows with; it’s titled Dark Side. His playing is just mental and as for the lyrics, well I don’t know whats going on.

Watch these bad boys then go and search him on the YouChoob and watch more.

As a bonus, if you wonder how controversial he can be…

Enjoy! I’m off to watch Californication!

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

8 thoughts on “Music Monday – Tim Minchin”

  1. This is a genuinely awesome post- I do love Tim Minchin and I can tell not onlty from what you’ve wrote, but the way you’ve wrote it, that you have a lot of respect for him. The man is a genius. A comic, ginger, musical genius.

    1. Thank you 😀 you should seriously watch Californication when it starts back up in the UK, he’s amazing in that as I suspected he would. I have a huge amount of respect for him, I’ve been a fan of his for the last decade, his music never gets old.

  2. Tim Minchin is awesome! PS I found your post after clicking on your ingenious reference to linear ejaculate on Lily’s recent post about Crest white strips and am hoping to enjoy much more of that banter through your blog, but please… keep the giz in the pants!

  3. I love Tim Minchin! Cont would have to be one of my favourite songs and Lullaby, and If I Didn’t Have You and…. Ok, all of them. Tim can do no wrong!

Leave a Reply

