Music Monday – Hannah Dorman

HannahDormanWhat’s going on people? I’m currently writing this on Sunday night mostly because I’m being proactive so I either had a really rubbish day at work or I had an awesome snow day as it’s currently pelting it down with it outside.

The thing that annoys me with snow is every one seems to be totally shocked at the sight of it, like an unevolved tribesman seeing a plane flying past for the first time. Despite the fact that we’ve seen snow at least once every year since the day we were born people feel the need to go on Facebook and type out some inane update like “OMGWTFBBQROFLCOPTER! ITS TOTES SNOWING OUTSIDE! I CANT BELEEVE IT!!!”. Yeah thanks for that, but I do indeed have a window.

Anyway I’m going to do something different for this weeks Music Monday as someone recently sent me a copy of their EP and asked me if I’d like to review it on my blog before it gets released in February.

You know you’re hitting big time when people are wanting you to review their stuff, it must mean I’m pretty great or something. I googled her name as soon as she asked and I came across her website and listened to some of her music that she has on there. Simply put she has an awesome voice so I jumped at the chance. Though you’ll have to forgive me if my review isn’t up to par, I’m used to talking about what I know haha.

So this week rather than talk about someone established I’ll be talking about an up and comer whose trying to make a name for herself without having to go on some poxy reality show which always scores big points in my book.

Obviously the first thing you’ll notice about Hannah is that she’s gorgeous; well if you’re male that’s the first thing you’ll notice, if you’re female you’ll notice that she has an incredible sense of style. With that and her beautiful voice you get the perfect recipe for the next big British artist.

The above song is one of the songs Hannah sent me and is the acoustic version of her EPs title track, Words. This is a nice taster of what you can expect from the song; the actual studio version is a lot better in my opinion; definitely right up my street. As the opening tears through your ears I’m instantly reminded of Nothing by A and then it transforms into something unique and her calming tones take over.

This is definitely a worthy song to title your EP after and I can’t wait to have this wake me up in the morning while I’m blasting it out of my speakers on the way to work.

The next song on the EP titled, In My Place I’ll admit I love the acoustic version as much as the original version. The acoustic version is much softer and easier to chill out to not to mention you can hear the main selling point of this artist more clearly; her voice. Don’t get me wrong though the studio version is still amazing and is backed up with excellent guitar riffs.

The other two songs on the EP are titled “Bring It Back” which is my personal favourite out of the four and finished off with “Maybe”. To listen to these you’ll need to buy the EP when it’s released in 10 days. You won’t regret it.

The final song I’ll showcase is a cover she’s done of a band that I’m a secret fan of. No one I know really admits to being a McFly fan but on this occasion I shall if only to say what an excellent job Hannah does at recreating this song. Just herself and her guitar.

It’s safe to say that I could listen to this girls voice all day long and when she eventually releases a full album I’ll definitely be the first to buy a copy. I’m just a guy that’s hoping to shed his drab, boring life and eventually become a professional writer one way or another which is why I can identify with Hannah so much because she’s just a girl wanting to follow her dream and I know that if she carries on along the path she’s currently on especially being backed by the awesome band she has then she’ll eventually fill arena’s, she’ll be headlining festivals and selling millions of records. All she has to do is keep at it and her dream will be realized, this is certainly the first step.

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to listen to and review your music; when you make it huge I’ll be able to brag about this one day. Make sure you let me know when you’re touring around the Derbyshire/Yorkshire area and I’ll make the trip and be a screaming fan in the crowd.

Everyone should follow Hannah on Twitter @HannahDorman, watch her on YouTube; follow her on Facebook and check out her excellent website; HannahDorman.Com where you can check out more videos and music.

Words (click the link for a preview!) is released on iTunes on the 1st of February, so make sure you check it out and once you’ve finished saying to yourself “oh yeah, this is well tasty.” Purchase it!

EP-cover

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

14 thoughts on “Music Monday – Hannah Dorman”

  1. Nice review, Pete!! She’s got a lovely voice and a great way of delivering the message in her songs. Thanks for the intro to an artist I can easily listen to and enjoy.

  2. Awesome review! She’s destined for big things without the fake ‘reality/talent show’ crap. They are just naff karaoke sessions to boost the egos of the *cough cough ‘judges’ and entertain the moronic. Thank you! From a longtime Hannah devotee, one of the Dorminators! BloodyMartyr ❤

    1. Thank you for reading it! 😀 I can tell when people have the tools to make it big and she definitely has all the requirements to do so; I can see why you’re a longtime fan, I’m definitely a new one.

  3. Another great review, Pete! I like her music quite a bit. Her voice reminds me a little of the lead singer of the Cranberries. She’s raw and natural and that’s why she’s interesting. Good stuff. Hey, maybe you could make reviewing a full time job? You’ve got a knack for it.

  4. Nice work Pete! You always know where to find the good chunes. I really like her music–it’s easy to listen to and she’s got a great voice. And yes, she’s really pretty too!

Leave a Reply

