Music Monday – Movie Trailer Music

greimI thought I’d actually write a post for once before my blog is totally devoid of viewers. Would I say I’m feeling refreshed? Not really; I think it’s actually having a job and the fact that I swallow endless amounts of energy drink a day to cope that really takes it out of me. That and having to get up super early to get *shudder* the bus to work.

Eleanor has been at the garage now for an entire week, that’s an entire week without driving! Whether the poor girl even gets mended or whether I go ahead and buy my friends Celica it’s still going to be awhile.

I swear I nearly caught Typhoid from some old bint sat behind me the other day. Why are people so disgusting? Then today some mental kept waving and smiling at everyone and kept staring at me, I was this close to gouging out his eyes with my thumbs. A horrible image I know but that’s the kind of mood I was in.

Anyway more on bus journeys later; I thought I’d do something different for this weeks Music Monday and talk about music that appears in movie trailers.

As we all know an important part of a movie trailer is the music that’s in the background, when it’s especially awesome it catches your attention and makes you want to watch said movie that much more.

STORM – CRAIG ARMSTRONG

I’ve mentioned before how much I’m looking forward to the new Man of Steel movie that’s due to come out ins mere months; it’s been a long wait but we’re finally nearly there. I believe this is going to be the next great movie trilogy, after Nolan’s successful Dark Knight trilogy it’ll be interesting to see what he brings to the Superman franchise; after 2006’s disappointment we’re clamouring for a great Superman film and I know how awesome Henry Cavill is so I have high hopes for this bad boy.

Who ever is producing these trailers needs some sort of award because the music choices have been brilliant every time; the above song is featured in the most recent trailer and is made by one of my favourite composers Craig Armstrong; whether it’s hearing his music in films, trailers or just on their own he has an incredible ear for things that sound great.

FREEDOM FIGHTERS – TWO STEPS FROM HELL

With the new Star Trek film coming out I can’t help but think back to the last Star Trek film that was released four years ago; wow time has gone fast. I remember seeing it for the first time at the cinema, and being a massive Star Trek fan it almost gave me a heart attack with how awesome it was. I did speculate how good this really could be as no one likes change, Kirk played by someone other than Shatner?! Surely you jest. But J.J. Abrams has never failed me before and he didn’t fail me then.

I’ve heard a lot of Two Steps From Hell again from trailers or music within films; they have an ability to make their music sound simply; epic. If you type in “Epic Music” into YouTube you’ll no doubt get a page full of Two Steps From Hell.

MA VLAST – BEDRICH SMETANA

The first part of this trailer features a song written by a man that died 101 years before I was born. Imagine creating something that grants your name immortality; I wish my interest in history was around when I was much younger; I may have done better in school. It’s amazing to imagine that people had entire lives before I was even born; how people write such beautiful music over a century before the notion of creating ‘Ard Pete was even conceived!

The song fits in well with the trailer; I was intrigued to see what Tree of Life would be about as the trailer doesn’t actually give away any sort of plot. But the twist is when I actually went to watch the film, it didn’t have any kind of plot. Just Sean Penn looking weird and Brad Pitt being a bit of a bastard. Still… I liked it, I don’t know why; perhaps the soundtrack helped.

JUST LIKE YOU IMAGINED – NINE INCH NAILS

Probably my most favourite movie trailer music has to be by Nine Inch Nails used for the trailer for 300; watching this made me wish I was a Spartan, not one of the 300 though as they all died. Of course I was later jaded to find out that all these muscular men were actually just fat guys heavily CGI’d. Not that I like looking at muscular men or anything… it just took away from the awesomeness.

However I’ve lost count the amount of times I’ve seen this film and listened to this music; they’re a perfect blend which has produced the perfect trailer. Did you know the guy that played Xerxes also starred in Lost? No you didn’t, why? Because you don’t care. And neither do I.

Anyway thank you for taking the time to indulge me on this evening, feel free to list some of your favourite music you’ve heard from movie trailers!

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

8 thoughts on “Music Monday – Movie Trailer Music”

  1. Why don’t you just marry the Man of Steel movie already?

    You made it through Tree of Life? Jesus Christ I’m impressed and you must not have had anything else to do.

    Almost every movie trailer looks so cool these days especially in a theater. Whenever I go to the movies which is rare in itself I’ll want to see some of the crappiest movies just based on the music, the sound, and the epicness of it all. The Kristen Stewart Snow White garbage looked fantastic in the trailer I saw. It as terrible. I’d say the complete opposite about Into the Wild though. I thought the trailer made the movie look incredibly boring but it’s one of my favorites. Plus Eddie Vedder did the soundtrack. It ended up helping.

    1. If only I could, if you think I’m obsessed you should see my friend, he quotes the trailer to his girlfriend almost every day! It’ll be insanely funny if the movie actually turns out to be shit haha!

      I think I watched it when I was out of work last year so yeah I didn’t have a lot going on. I still haven’t seen Snow White because I know Kristen Stewart is a poor excuse for an actress so I can imagine how bad it’d be.

      The Wild haha, I haven’t seen it but if it’s got your approval I may have to give it a watch 😀

  2. I love those trailers. You’re right, there should be an award for these previews. Those are all brilliant. I loved 300 and Star Trek and I’ve always been a Superman fanatic. I’m looking forward to all of them. The music on all four of them is breath taking. It’s amazing what they can create with all that technology. Sometimes my favorite part of going to a movie is watching the trailers. I get upset if I miss any.
    Great post, Pete!!

    1. Thanks 😀 And yeah, the best part of the film is definitely the trailers, I’ve actually gone to a later showing because “the film just started”

      “Ah screw that, I’ll have a ticket for the hour after.”

      “It has literally just started, you won’t have missed anything”

      “THE TRAILERS!”

      Some people just don’t understand!

  3. I love that you have a favorite composer. That Man of Steel movie looks much better than the 2006 Superman. I didn’t mind it that much though. I never saw Tree of Life, but I did like the trailer. I thought I might get bored in it. I loved 300 though. What a bomb trailer. So epic.

    1. Yeah the 2006 Superman I only liked because we’d been waiting ages for a new Superman film; Man of Steel actually looks good and has a massive cast of awesome actors 😀 Tree of Life, I don’t know even know what its about, I wouldn’t recommend watching it

Leave a Reply

