Why Do Men Love Cars?

LEROYMy recent post about the death of Eleanor sparked some questions why men covet cars so much. Too be honest I’m not a massive petrol head, I barely know anything about cars. When something goes wrong I haven’t got “a guy” that’ll fix it for free, I don’t know what a twin turbo engine is, I barely even know what the difference between petrol and diesel is!

But I was thinking to myself today at work, what is it that gets us so hooked on cars? What makes us think of them as not just a thing but a him or her. What makes us emotionally attached to them?

I can’t answer for all men because no doubt the reasons vary but for me, I see driving as freedom. Since not having a car I’ve had to rely on public transport to take me where I want to go, having to sit on a *shudder* bus and sit near people I don’t know on a seat where I have no idea whose been sat there before me.

For all I know it could have been some old woman with a weak bladder; pissing deep into the fabric and now I’ve just sat down on that very same seat; have you ever seen a clean bus? They might give em a sweep every now and then but lets face it, we’re not sitting on the floor.

I haven’t seen any friends since the loss of my car, most of them live in another city. I like knowing that at any moment I can just jump in my car and go wherever I want. I can just up and leave if I wanted to; I could go to Manchester or London just for a drive if I wanted to.

And when I’m on those drives my car has always gotten me home safe and sound. Doesn’t matter if some prick is trying to ram me off the road or if I’m travelling on a very dodgy road, even if it should have died long ago they’ve always kept on going.

As of this moment I’ve only owned two cars in my life, the first one being a Ford Fiesta, my first car. It was ten years old and low mileage, it wasn’t a flashy car and the colour was something to be desired but it sure as hell was reliable.

I treated that car like a piece of shit, I hammered the hell out of it. Pushing the engine far beyond its capacity resulting in a busted head gasket (I don’t even know what that is but it was expensive to repair). That car took me to all corners of the United Kingdom, Brighton, London, Wales, Scotland and it always got me home. I suppose that’s why we get attached because they look after you.

Eventually the car just wasn’t worth repairing with the amount of work that needed doing to it, after four years the time came to move on.

Sad Fiesta Is Sad.
Sad Fiesta Is Sad.

And with that came the MG TF. Unlike the Fiesta I didn’t go for reliability, I went for pure looks, I wanted a convertible. I wanted to cruise around with the top down and feel the breeze in my face; there’s just something awesome about looking up while driving and seeing nothing but sky.

mgIt did seem like I was sold a lemon with that car at times though as soon after I bought it the clutch went out on it and boy that was expensive to repair, though to be fair the only check I did on the car was test how loud the engine was. Once it was fixed though I didn’t have any more problems with it; I loved having a car that made me smile every time I looked at it. Eleanor as I affectionately named it after the GT from Gone In 60 Seconds was a beast compared to my old Fiesta in terms of speed and handling but at the same time was also a beauty.

I don’t mind admitting that I used to just sit on my wall and look at her for a couple minutes before getting in. I had a car I could be proud to drive around in. The best time of my life was driving back from Scotland with the roof down all the way back, just me, the road and the sun.

Parking It Was So Easy.
Parking It Was So Easy.

Unfortunately unlike the Fiesta the mileage was quite high and had more previous owners; it was pretty much shagged when I bought it and ended up not lasting the year, end of Feb being when I bought it. The engine overheated on New Years Eve but I thought nothing of it, then it overheated again a couple weeks back. It looked as though it was just the water pump that needed fixing but it could also be the head gasket or the engine itself. The mechanic took so long to fix it I made the decision not to get it repaired and I would just go ahead and buy another. The MOT was also due and I know at least three of the tyres would need replacing and God knows what else.

Sad MG Is Sad.
Sad MG Is Sad.

I feel my time with Eleanor ended before it should have, she was not well looked after in a previous life but she still got me to where I needed to be right up until the point when she couldn’t anymore. I also feel a little sad because the winter period is over, it’d soon be time for top down weather but I remind myself that I will one day have another convertible, hopefully one that’s been better looked after with less miles on the clock.

So what’s next? I shall be buying my friends Toyota Celica, a little older than the MG and more miles on the clock but more looked after and from someone I trust not just some random man at a garage that’s obviously experienced in sales.

CelicaThe Celica is a beauty in herself, very sleek. And it’s faster than the MG… and louder (which is always a must) I haven’t decided what to call her yet when I eventually purchase it but I can’t wait to get my hands on her.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

9 thoughts on “Why Do Men Love Cars?”

  1. i do not get attached to a car any more, they are just steel on four wheels to go from A to B.

    My next post is also about cars, but you will love these ones 🙂

      1. 🙂 True i suppose, i had a Rover 90 back then and i thought i was the king driving around in it, a big heavy car leather seats mahogany dash the body was aluminum.

        But i took it to work as usual, parked in a car park and an hour later it was blown sky high in a car bomb which was parked two cars away 🙂

  2. Buying a car is such a big decision. I’ve never bought a car myself, always had people help me out. I don’t mind riding the bus or the train so much, but it can be annoying. The people are the worst part, really. In Paris, my brother and Paul and I were on a train that smelled of absolute shite and I think it was because this homeless man pooped his pants. Disgusting.

    I’d say that you should name your new car Lola, Layla, Mandy, Cecilia, or another name that’s in a song so I can play it when she eventually dies…

    1. Eww! See what I mean and then someone would’ve sat in that seat after he got off!

      Cecilia the Celica! This shall be her name, you’re the best 🙂

      1. Haha and then when she dies we can play “CECILIA YOU’RE BREAKING MY HEART!”

        I’m sorry that I’m just ready and waiting for your car to die.

        1. Fail to prepare then prepare to fail and I’ve never known you to fail 😀 besides I’ll give it a year before I begin looking for another car!

Leave a Reply

