Shaven Haven

beardface2I hate not writing, I hate coming home and seeing all these notifications in my inbox telling me that one of you guys has posted something new and I then procrastinate to read it. I’ve fallen so behind on some of my favourite blogs now it’s unreal. It was so easy last year when I was out of work because I didn’t have much else going on in my head but now I spend pretty much the entire day in front of a computer, my brain cells slowly dying, my blood pressure slowly rising and by the time I come home all I want to do is hide from the world because after all, it’s hard to be constantly charming and awesome all day long.

The most interesting thing I’ve done recently is shaving off all of my hair; I know, sad.

Not sad because I’m now a shaven chimp but sad because that’s the most interesting thing that’s happened.

Lily was the one that gave me an idea to write about my hair so you can blame her for this piece of shit hah! The hair growth began back in November when someone asked to see what I looked like when my hair grew (as I usually look like a human microphone) then I decided to keep growing it, at the same time I thought it’d be cool to try and actually grow a beard, I’d never grown one before so I wanted to see what it was like.

Six months down the line I’d grown a fairly hairy face as you can see above. There’s always good and bad points of having long hair, the main good one being no one asked me why I had an unsightly scar on my head every five minutes, the bad being the fact that it added an extra 20 minutes to my morning trying to straighten out my bed hair, not to mention constantly dropped food in there. As the beard grew I also used to get bed beard, it’s a right pain in the arse. It did however keep me warm in these winter months.

beardface3I did want to keep growing the hair but it becomes tiresome and I want those 20 minutes of sleep so I decided that I’d get my hair shaved, obviously the beard had to stay just to show people what it looked like.

I looked alright so long as I walked around in public wearing a hat, people would have just thought I was some sort of white Kimbo Slice, I was torn on whether to keep or lose the beard, I did want to keep growing it but to what end? Plus it looked daft having no hair so I left it for a few days so everyone at work could see how truly epic the beard was.

Another reason I wanted to keep it is because as people told me it makes me look “ten years older” and that must have been true because I hadn’t be ID’d for anything once when buying alcohol or cigarettes. Without the beard I have such a babyface but it had to be done and as I shaved it so many things went through my head, like, wow my head looks small, wow my face is cold, has my head shrunk?, my heads definitely shrunk and maybe I should just leave it like this…

beardface1

But nevermind, my face has gotten used to the cold now; I’m back to looking handsome instead of homeless and there’s always next winter to grow another epic beard.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

10 thoughts on “Shaven Haven”

  1. Ahh nice work! Glad you went through with it. I prefer the babyfaced clean shaven look on you. But it is nice to know that you have the ability to grow an epic beard/head of hair whenever you want to! Skillz!

    1. Haha, imagine if I was a superhero and that was my super power, “There’s evil a foot, give me six months to grow some epic hair and the problem will be solved.”

  2. I didn’t like the beard but half a bread is a new trend 🙂

    Sit down and write a few poems about how you fell and your day went, you always know where you can post them.

  3. I was wondering where you were. If you had one of those bikes and a leather jacket you’d pull off a decent biker, though I must say that first one reminded me of someone I saw in a movie once a long time ago. Will you grow it long enough so it could be braided? I think that would be cool in a weird way, lol!
    I know how hard it can be to keep up with what’s going on here but on the bright side you have a job to take up your time even though it deals with stupid people and when you have to be nice to them it takes energy. The important thing, as you know, is rest to maintain even a little sanity so get enough and you’ll be fine. Cheers 😉

    1. I see you’re keeping Excellence Asylum going 😀 excellent work! I was thinking about just keeping my hair growing and then letting someone abuse me in the ways you mentioned, they wanted to braid my beard haha! I expected to be fired by now so I could get back to full time blogging lol 🙂

  4. I’m with Lily. I like your handsome clean shaven look the best. Just sayin’. And as long as you get to my posts, you’re good to go. The others are really rubbish next to mine. 😉

Leave a Reply

