Britain’s Got Talent 2013 – Week 1

bgt2013I don’t mind admitting that I’m the sort of person that watches these talent shows, some people groan and go “what a sad bastard you are” but screw you, in most cases they’re enjoyable. This past Friday my favourite show of the whole lot started back up, Britain’s Got Talent; the thing that annoys me with singing competitions like American Idol or X Factor is the fact that they have to attach a sob story (which in most cases is bollocks) to every singer that comes on.

Everyone’s either had their parents die in a horrific accident at a young age and their last words to them were “Go on X Factor” or they’ve got a disease, or they have stage fright, or they’re bullied on a daily basis and tried commiting suicide (*cough*didn’t try hard enough*cough*); then by the time the live shows are about nothings ever said about their lives ever again. As if it never happened.

What I think is different about Britain’s Got Talent is you just have people that want to go out there and do what they do; no bullshit. Naturally as with all shows you get the freaks that go on there purely for entertainment purposes but every show you’ll either see someone amazing or see something you’ve never seen before.

So I thought I’d show you guys what I think was the highlight of the weekly show, which will no doubt be amazing for you who don’t live in Britain and annoying for you who live in Britain but hate these shows. 😀

Jack Carroll – Comedian

For some reason I can’t get the thought of Jimmy from South Park out of my head, is that wrong? Probs, but the resemblence is uncanny except Jack is actually a funny young man. As I said above, you get those that bitch and whine about their lives and you see someone like Jack who actually has real problems and he’s thought “Fuck this feeling sorry bollocks, I’m gonna make you laugh”. But you know, probably with less swear words. I can definitely see this guy becoming something big in the comedy world in the future.

Alice Fredenham – Singer

This girl actually closed out the show on Saturday as it seems to be a rule that they put on someone amazing to end it to make us all think we’ve not just wasted an hour of our time; this one has a bit of a sob story at the beginning but I’ll let her off because she’s rate fit. No doubt when she reaches the finals the notion of her stage fright won’t be mentioned again, but she has the looks and the voice to be someone big. I for one couldn’t help but get lost in her eyes. (And she’s herself a rate set of boobs.)

Attraction – Shadow Dancers

I’d never even heard of shadow dancing before, this act was the second to last that was shown but it’s going to be last on this post because it was the best thing I’ve seen all year. (Though I haven’t seen much spending most of my time at work and bed)

This group is actually from Hungary as they said in the pre-performance video that they think Britain’s Got Talent is the biggest show in the world and they want to become world renowned saying, “This is a love story, because this is an emotional story and a true story. If we won Britain’s Got Talent, this is the top of my life!”

My initial thought was, “this is gonna be shit” but I’ve watched it about 10 times now and it still doesn’t get boring. Plus you know if it makes a fat woman wearing a blue jumper cry they have a good chance of winning, they’re certainly an early favourite at this stage and it’ll be hard to top them.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

11 thoughts on “Britain’s Got Talent 2013 – Week 1”

  1. He gets a standing ovation? A little rubbing it in their face.

    I wish he did at least one joke that wasn’t about his disability. Maybe he did and the edited them out.

    Now to watch the hot chick and see which video turns me on more.

    1. Like I said, it’ll be bullshit for television purposes, when she reaches the finals or whatever she’ll be Captain Confidence’s younger sister, Miss Confidence.

  2. My boyfriend and I couldn’t stop thinking ‘Erh mah gerd, that’s JIMMY!’ aswell, but he was bloody fantastic. The shadow people actually made me come over all emotional… with freaking shadows. I’m not even ashamed to admit it, it was beautiful.

    1. He was pretty good, he probs won’t win but no doubt we’ll see him on stage later on in life. But yeah I was the same with the Shadows, if I wasn’t so damned ‘Ard and had tear ducts I may have shed a tear.

  3. Waaah, that girl is so… cute, somehow, though she’s like 10 years older than me. She did a good job. And those shadow dancers… Dear lord! Magic! Really good.
    That’s the good side of these programs, you sometimes get to see real talent :).

    1. The bad side is you get those idiots that go on and surely they must know that they have no talent; why would they go on just to make a laughing stock of themselves haha.

  4. That is is definitely going to be something big, I’d lay may cards on him. She shadow dancers were just freaking amazing, I cried myself a stream! The singer was nice as well and I’d agree with you with the sob stories some of them are true but it becomes apparent as the show goes on and they’re not mentioned again. It sucks that I don’t get it over here 😦 But do tell me something, did you see the chair dancer (and David!) get it on with Simon? 😀 LoL

    1. Haha yeah the chair dancer, can you believe people actually the complained about that because it was “too racy” for a 7pm show? I mean Jesus, all these kids are going to see it all one day anyway and I’m pretty sure theirs racier stuff on earlier in the day anyway. You could tell Simon was loving it, that man is a God to me.

Leave a Reply

