Music Monday – Stereophonics

stereophonicsI know it’s been a few months since my last Music Monday and that’s because there weren’t many bands/singers I felt like writing about but I’ve spent the last few weeks or so trying to find new bands and new music rather than the same old stuff I play on iTunes every week.

Came across Stereophonic’s new album recently and it reminded me how good they actually are so I began to listen to some of their older stuff and it brought the memories flooding back.

The front man Kelly Jones has the look of someone you’d like to have a pint with; no doubt he’d have no problem with the ladies being the handsome man he is; it’s just a shame that when he opens his mouth the only thing that comes out is a Welsh accent. You can look as cool as you want, have the gratey, husky voice you do but if you have a Welsh accent you’ve shot it.

I just pretend Kelly J doesn’t have a Welsh accent and I refrain from listening/watching any interviews with him involved and then he can remain the coolest man in the world.

The first single they released from their first album was called Local Boy In The Photograph, listening back now it’s still as current now as it was then; back then however I wasn’t a huge fan of Stereophonics. Not because I didn’t like them, just because I never paid much attention to them, I think in 1997 I was still into (lolz) pop music. Man how times have changed.

It’s a shame though because I should have been born in the 70s rather than the 80s then I would have been old enough to appreciate all the awesome music of the 90s while it was around, probably could have gotten to see some of my favourite bands live while they were at their peak. Nowadays the charts are filled with utter rubbish, piss off Jessie J.

I probably didn’t take notice of Stereophonics until their 2001 single release of Mr. Writer from their third studio album; Just Enough Education to Perform. The music video’s kind of trippy and scary (because clowns are damn frightening) but the slow tempo of this song is the perfect song to listening to while you’re drinking heavily on a weekend and over indulging in cigarettes; it could possibly be a perfect suicide song. Not that I’m saying I would but there was a guy from my work who tried commiting suicide, you know a job is bad when it makes you want to kill yourself, I’m not at that point yet.

And I say tried commiting suicide, he took a load of pills, had he been listening to this song at the time he may have done the job properly. My last ever words to that guy were “have you got the AIDs”. People called me an idiot for that but you know, don’t send me a suicide note in a text message and expect me not to reply with something inappropriate.

Where were we? Oh yeah, Mr. Writer. This track still remains a personal favourite of mine and is probably my favourite song they’ve ever done.

It wouldn’t be until 2005, 8 years later when they’d get their first Number 1 hit with the song “Dakota”, it was also the first song they’d done to chart in America reaching 34. This is the sort of song that you’d play to a large crowd on a hot summers day, a perfect music festival song.

The fact that they’ve managed to keep up their pace and quality over the years is something not many bands can claim to do; naturally with 8 studio albums there’s a hell of a lot more songs to listen to and I’d recommend every single one, from their first ever song Local Boy In The Photograph to their most recent offering Graffiti On The Train from the album of the same name; also from their most recent album I’d recommend Indian Summer.

Kelly Jones is one of my favourite vocalists and this song is a good example of why.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

7 thoughts on “Music Monday – Stereophonics”

  1. I remember in uni, two of my friends came into my room so excited that they got the new stereophonics album. I haven’t paid much attention to them, but I really like the songs you’ve picked out here!

    1. People get excited because they’ve bought a music album? I wonder what that feels like, I’m usually just like “ah cool INSERT BANDS NAME has released more music, I’ll probs download it at some point” then forget for about a year haha. You should give these more of a listen though they’re worth it 😀

Leave a Reply

