New Job!

i-cant-keep-calm-because-i-got-a-new-jobSo you may have noticed that I had mentioned that I may be getting a new job elsewhere over the last couple of posts. I had recently found out that I’ll definitely be moving jobs next month!

At the moment I do IT Support for Royal Mail and while it was challenging when I first started it’s just repetitive now and not something I enjoy doing. Not to mention that the company I work for isn’t great, management barely have a clue and as for the career aspirations, pretty much non-existant where I am now, the only thing I could look forward to is training up on another account and eventually doing both at the same time for no more money.

I was lucky when I arrived to have such a wealth of knowledge to learn from however all of those people have now left and gone on to bigger and better things, there’s very few left that know more than I do on the helpdesk now. While I kind of like being the person people go to for help I think I’ve gotten everything I want out of that place and it’s time to move on myself.

The job I’ll be doing is a lot more technical with regards to resolving issues, rather than logging support tickets to other resolver teams which is what the place I’m at now is more focused.

The jobs I’ve had since I started this blog have pretty much been laughable, it wasn’t so long ago that I spent a majority of my day blogging at one job I had. This job I’ve actually managed to stick out for a year and a half and now I’m leaving that one out of my own choice not theirs which makes a change, it’s easy to just stay with a company because you know the people, you know the job and you know how things work that’s why it’s scary to be going somewhere new, but at this stage of my life I’m used to it by now. I just need to keep my head down, learn everything and I’ll be fine.

I’m nervous but at the same time excited because it’s something new, I know people there, the interviewers apparently loved me so I’ll be going in with a good impression and I’ll be earning more money in a job that has better job prospects.

Now all I need to do is get the decent people from where I am currently new jobs! A plan that is already in motion. Never leave a man behind and all that. I’m currently in the middle of a two week vacation from work, people have been moaning that I haven’t been there to help them and lift their spirits, luckily for them I’ll be back next Monday, unluckily for them I’ll only be there for three more weeks and then I’m out of there and then comes the inevitable leaving party where I’ll probably end up in a coma. Won’t be the first time that’s happened this year.

Let’s hope I don’t fuck this one up!

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

9 thoughts on “New Job!”

  1. Well done, ‘Hard Pete!! Fingers crossed you’ll find contentment and a chance to advance at your new job!

  2. Hi Pete! *waves* 🙂

    I’ve missed you, and I’m glad you’re still alive, and I’m glad you’ve got a new job, and cunting hell we need to celebrate with some form of llama-riding through the streets of Chesterfield.

    Love love love!

  3. The very best of luck with your new job and I hope it works out for you. You seen to have settled down with regards to your work.

    Just take it a bit easier with the drinking 🙂

    1. Definitely need to calm it down with the drinking, said I’d stop drinking this year as I prepare for a 5k race later this year, ended up drinking more if anything. :/

  4. I’m so proud of you Pete! You seem to have made a complete 180 in the jobs department. I love that you are moving on to bigger and better things. And you take yourself into consideration and know how much you’re worth. I can tell you have an eagerness to learn and grow. You inspire me, old boy. I hope there are some sexy ladies at your new place 😉

Leave a Reply

